Confessions of a Hollywood Extra: Yes, You CAN Cry From Misery!

I’ve never been much of a crier. It takes A LOT to make me cry. In fact, I didn’t believe one could actually, authentically cry from misery… until I did some background “acting.”

What follows is not a complaint. I am not complaining, nor even lamenting. I am merely recognizing the humorous irony of being driven to literal tears from absurdities in the movie business. Here are, as promised in Confessions of a Hollywood Extra: The Way It Was, the 3 times I have actually cried from misery in the golden movie business.

1. SHARKNADO 
It was a wintry, overcast day in the downtown Los Angeles industrial district. (In LA terms, this means around 40 degrees, which, with a wind chill and thinned out blood, can actually be a little cold.) A dozen or so of us “background actors” sat in dusty plastic chairs in a crowded truck parking lot, awaiting…

View original post 1,388 more words

Leave a Reply

